NBI Clearance


This funny story happened sometime in February 2013.

It was around 2:30 early in the morning when I arrived at one of the malls in metro Cebu to get my NBI clearance. I was the 4th in line.

I was still very sleepy and tried resting because the NBI office will open at 9:00 o’clock in the morning. Per my inquiry with the guard, we will be allowed to go up the mall where the NBI office is located at 6:00 o’clock.

Then the funny moment happened. The guard whom I asked earlier announced that it was already 5:30 o’clock and we need to line-up and prepare our identification card.

The guard announced in cebuano, “Talay lang mo tarong og ayaw pa insert. Unya e-andam ang inyong INVALID ID’s. Andama daan ang inyong INVALID ID’s kay lantawon na”. I wanted to laugh so hard but I have to refrain myself because he was holding his service shotgun. It came at a time when I was really tired. It was really a relief.

Leave a Reply

